Below is a letter I sent to the Yorkshire Evening Post.

I am writing to say that I am delighted that the recommendation made by Education Leeds that the City of Leeds School remains open has been accepted by the Council’s Executive Board.

This is great news for the local community which has been saying for a long time that City of Leeds School is a vital part of the local community and for the parents and pupils its closure would have been an absolute disaster. Staff, pupils and parents have however responded very positively and I know this will continue in a determination to drive City of Leeds forward.

I would like to thank the local community, especially the Stand Up 4 City campaign which has played a huge role in making the case for City of Leeds. Myself, Councillor Javaid Akthar and local MP, Hilary Benn are all delighted that the communities voice has been heard on this issue.

I will continue as the Councillor for Hyde Park & Woodhouse to make sure that City of Leeds receives the support and recognition it deserves.

Yours Sincerely,

Councillor Gerry Harper

Hyde Park Ward

Leeds Civic Hall